Co-Instructor Workflow

IMPORTANT NOTES:
  • This feature is only available for those with Institutional or Enterprise Licenses who are using an LMS.

This article details the following Co-Instructor Workflows within the Learning Management System:

  • Course Content Creation: One or more collaborating instructors for course content creation
  • Revision of Course Content: Instructional Designers and instructors to revise course content
  • Grading Assistance: Teachers Assistants who require access to grade student submissions and responses

For the purposes of these instructions, "Instructor A" is the owner of the bulb and "Instructor B" is the person accessing the bulb. 

In this article

Learn how co-instructors, TAs, or instructional designers can access bulbs through a shared course in the LMS. "Instructor A" is the owner of the bulb and "Instructor B" is the collaborator who accesses the bulb.  

  1. Instructor "A" Directions
  2. Instructor "B" Directions- How to Access Bulb
  3. Instructor "B" Directions- How to Edit Bulb
  4. Troubleshooting

Use this workflow to:

  • Allow instructors or instructional designers to edit/revise bulbs
  • Give access to TAs to grade bulbs
  • Collaborate on creating bulbs

Instructor "A" (Owner of the Bulb) Directions

The owner of the Bulb will go through the LMS to link the bulb in a shared course that both instructors have access to.

For more information on how to link a bulb in the LMS, click here

Instructor "B" Directions- How to Access Shared Bulbs

The second instructor will follow this workflow to authenticate as themselves through the LMS in order to view the bulb or grade learner responses. 

1. Log into your LMS and navigate to the shared course. 

2. Click on the assignment. A grey screen will pop up, from here instructor B can Preview or Monitor the bulb. 

Instructor "B" Directions- How to Edit Shared Bulbs

The second instructor will follow this workflow to authenticate as themselves through the LMS in order to make edits/revisions to the bulb. 

1. Log into your LMS and navigate to the shared course. 

2. Click on the assignment. A grey screen will pop up > Enter PlayPosit.

3. Navigate to the Classes folder and find the course folder. 

4. Click on the bulb > Edit Bulb.

    NOTE: The owner of the course must give access to the course to the second person.

    Troubleshooting

    Why aren't all bulbs appearing in the "Classes" folder?

    If this is a copied course and not all of the bulbs in this course are showing up under the "Classes" folder in PlayPosit, the assignment links must be launched first. To do this follow these steps:
    1. In the Learning Management System, navigate to the shared course.
    2. Click on each PlayPosit assignment to launch the bulb. *Please note that you do not need to watch the bulb, just click to open it then go back to the rest of the assignments.
    3. Now that each PlayPosit assignment has been launched, go back into the "Classes" folder in PlayPosit and all bulbs in that course will be there.