LMS Troubleshooting

In this article

Integration data missing

This error occurs when you log into PlayPosit outside of your LMS and then go back into your LMS and click Monitor. To resolve this, close out of all of your browser windows, log back into your LMS and only access PlayPosit through your LMS. For best results, use Chrome, as some browsers may block your LMS from sending PlayPosit the information it needs to identify your account.

This LMS user id seems to be already linked to your account

This error occurs for a few different reasons. One reason could be that the same consumer key and secret are installed in multiple instances of the LMS. If there are multiple instances of the LMS that are using the same consumer key and secret, please reach out to your account manager or help@playposit.org.

Another reason this error occurs is when either the LMS itself or the LMS user account has gone through an update. If the LMS or LMS user account has gone through an update, please reach out to your account manager or help@playposit.org to reset your account. 

Learner grade did not export into the LMS gradebook

On the PlayPosit Monitor Page, there will be an " in progress" status next to the learner's name. This means the learner did not watch the bulb until the end. Ask the learner to go back to the bulb and watch until the end where they will see a grade export confirmation. See The Student Experience for more information.

Grade export report errors

This error can occur for a few different reasons.

  • Grading is not enabled for this assignment.
  • The bulb was not assigned correctly. Click here for directions on how to assign a bulb in your LMS.
  • The bulb was assigned through the rich text editor
  • A PlayPosit link was pasted into the LMS.

If the bulb was assigned correctly and grading is enabled and you are still seeing this error message, please contact help@playposit.org with the name of the bulb.

My bulbs are missing

Make sure to: 

  1. Check to make sure you are using the correct email address. Click the user icon in the top right hand of your dashboard and click on 'Profile' in the dropdown menu. Under the 'Profile' section, you will see the email address you are currently logged in as. 
  2. In your LMS, make sure to check your profile there as well and ensure you are in the correct LMS account. 

Editing a bulb after learners have started assignment

If you attempt to edit a bulb after students have started taking, you will see the following message: 

Learners in your course have started taking this bulb. If you add/remove questions or change the answer key for any questions, these edits  will not be reflected for learners that have already answered questions. Any edits made to the question text or bulb settings will be updated for learners even if they have already started the bulb. For more information, click here

Assigning a bulb to the same course

If you attempt to assign a bulb again to the same course, you will see the following message: 

"Name of your bulb" is already linked to an assignment called "Name of your assignment". Bulbs can only be linked once in each LMS class. You will need to either unlinke from this assignment or make a new copy of the bulb to link.

The same bulb can only be assigned once in a given course. To reassign, create a copy of the bulb. Note that these will appear as separate assignments in the PlayPosit monitor and the LMS grade center (if grading is enabled). Any changes you make to the original bulb after copying will not be reflected on the copied version and vice versa. 

Bulb was removed

If you have unlinked a bulb to an assignment, your learners will see the following:

To resolve this, delete the assignment. Then, create a new assignment and  follow the steps on how to link a bulb according to your LMS.

Bulb was deleted

If a bulb was deleted after it was linked to an assignment, learners will see the following:

To resolve this, delete the assignment. Then, create a new assignment and follow the steps on how to link a bulb according to your LMS. If the bulb was accidentally deleted, contact help@playposit.org with the name of the bulb and the approximate date it was deleted.

This can happen for a few reasons. If you are seeing this error in Schoology, you need to link the bulb to each section separately. Here are the directions on how to link a bulb to a multi-section course.

If you see this error and you are not using Schoology, then the bulb was removed from the assignment. To resolve this delete the assignment. Then, create a new assignment and follow the steps on how to link a bulb according to your LMS. If the bulb was accidentally deleted, contact help@playposit.org with the name of the bulb and the approximate date it was deleted.

Can't access my bulbs in Schoology

There are several reasons you may not have access to your bulbs: 

  • You are using the PlayPosit App from the Schoology App Center 
    • If your school/district has purchased PlayPosit, make sure you are not using the PlayPosit app from the Schoology App Center. Instead, you should add assignments as an External Tool. Click here to learn more.
    • Note: We recommend uninstalling the app from the left sidebar to avoid confusion for students 
  • You have not entered a Primary Email in the Schoology Account Settings
    • An email address is needed in order for PlayPosit to authenticate you into your account from Schoology. Navigate to your Account Settings within Schoology to add an email address (instructions here). 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us