Your User Account (Instructors)

IMPORTANT NOTES:
  • This article applies only to Instructor User Accounts. For information on Admin User Accounts, please view this help article. Please note that students do not have a User Account.

In this article

  1. Navigate to user profile
  2. New user profile
  3. General account settings
  4. Default Bulb settings
  5. Instructor privacy
  6. Delete account

The  User Profile is where account settings, Bulbs defaults, and LMS integrations can be viewed and managed.

  1. To view the User Profile, navigate to the left side-bar menu and select your name.

New user profile

The updated user profile is now available to view! 

Note: The existing profile will be phased out and some features will only be available in the new profile. 

Click here to view the updated profile. 

Account subscription

This section shows the type of account, Bulb attempts, and video uploaded. 

Note: Bulb attempts and video upload limits will vary depending on the account type. 
  • Free account: Limited to 100 Bulb attempts per month. No video uploading.
  • Pro account: Unlimited Bulb attempts. Video uploading can be purchased. Click here for more details or contact help@playposit.org.
  • Institutional account: Unlimited Bulb attempts. Video uploading will only be available if it was purchased by the institution. 

Google Sync

We are currently updating our Google Classroom integration. Until it is finished you can continue to use the current flow in the old profile.

User settings

User configuration

View the email being used. Update name, display name, or profile picture.  Note: The display name is the name shown when completing the Bulb as a learner.

Update password 

Change the password on the account. Note: Updating the password will not affect the password used in your LMS. 

Settings

Update the Time Zone and copy the Search Code. The Search Code is a unique 8 character string that can be provided to learners to find your class. For more information on how to add learners to your classes, refer to this help article. Instructor privacy

Determine the privacy of your Bulbs.

  • Bulbs are public - Bulbs will be visible in Premade Bulbs and My Community tab
  • Bulbs are visible to members of your district/institution - Bulbs will be visible to members of just the institution
  • Bulbs are visible to members of your school/site - Bulbs will be visible to only members of the specific school you belong to within the institution 
  • Bulbs are private - Bulbs will not be visible in Premade Bulbs or My Community but can be shared via a direct link to instructors only
Bulb defaults

Determine playback settings for Bulbs. Note: Bulb defaults will only impact new Bulbs. For more information on Bulb settings, click here

  • Allow learners to rewind during questions - learners will be able to replay sections of the video prior to each question
  • Allow learners to skip questions - learners can choose not to answer certain questions and continue playing the video
  • Allow learners to fast forward - learners can skip ahead when viewing the video
  • Allow learners to retake once completed - learners can choose to re-answer some, or all, questions in the Bulb
  • Enable captions on all videos - learners who view the Bulb will have the option to view captions

Hide final score from learners - Instructors have the option to hide the learner score when the bulb is completed. This will prevent learners from seeing a specific percentage score when they complete a Bulb.

Interaction defaults

Select an interaction type from the drop down menu to select specific default settings. Each interaction will have its own set of available default advanced settings.  Note: Interaction defaults will only impact new Bulbs. 

Authentication integrations

These are the integrations currently set up by your organization. 

Video integrations

Add or update user IDs for video integrations set up by your organization. Note: Some video host integrations will automatically add your user ID. Click here for more information on video host integrations or reach out to your Account Manager. 

General account settings

Account subscription

This section shows the number of bulb attempts available for your PlayPosit account, which varies depending on the type of account you have. 

Sync settings

Instructors who have a Google Classroom account can sync their students and rosters with PlayPosit.

  1.  Click Sync With Google Classroom.
  2. Next, click Allow to sync Google Classroom with PlayPosit.

You can learn more about using Google Classroom with PlayPosit in this help article.

Change profile picture

You can change your profile picture by clicking within the picture frame directly under Profile and uploading an image file up to 2 MB in size.

Search code

Your Search Code is an 8 character string assigned to you which allows your students to find your Classes. For more information on the Search Code and adding students to your Classes, refer to this help article.

Update password

In this section, you can change the user password that you use to log in to PlayPosit. On the other hand, if you usually access PlayPosit through a LMS portal, such as through Blackboard or Canvas, adding a password to your account will let you login directly from www.playposit.com. Doing so will not affect your LMS password.

Default Bulb settings

Note: These settings are now only available in the new profile. Please refer to the new user profile here

Instructor privacy

When an admin selects an organizational privacy setting, that setting is the default privacy setting for any instructor account created within that license. Individual instructors can then select any privacy setting available in either the profile or on individual bulb privacy settings.

  • Bulbs are public - bulbs will be visible in Premade bulbs and My Community tab
  • Bulbs are visible to members of your district/institution - bulbs will be visible to members of just the institution
  • Bulbs are visible to members of your school/site - bulbs will be visible to only members of the specific school you belong to within the institution 
  • Bulbs are private - bulbs will not be visible in Premade bulbs or My Community but can be shared via a direct link to instructors only

Delete account

Clicking the big red button labeled Delete User Account will do exactly that! There‚Äôs no going back - all your Bulbs, Classes, and account activity will be irrevocably deleted, so be sure you want to delete your account before going anywhere near this button!

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us